Assisted Living Administrator Training (Summer)

Mary Russell

Date/Time
Date(s) - 06/28/2024
9:30 am - 11:00 am

Important Dates

The Assisted Living Administrator Training Summer Session consists of a mandatory orientation meeting combined with 40 hours (5 days) training schedule:

Summer Training Term: June 28, 2024 (class meets 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. with 30 minutes daily break for lunch)

Register

The Colorado Gerontological Society is an approved provider of the Assisted Living Facility Administrator Training required for licensure of assisted living facilities in Colorado.

The 40-hour administrator training is offered quarterly, as a virtual course, with a mandatory 1.5-hour orientation. The course is split into three two-day sessions to help prospective administrators balance attendance with other obligations.

The maximum class size is 20 participants. Total cost is for the course is $825 which includes CGS membership, class materials, exam preparation tools and instructor access. Participants must register for the complete six-day course. Partial registrations will not be accepted.

Certification Requirements

As of July 1, 2019, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) requires assisted living facility administrators to take forty (40) hours of training in specific content areas and pass a competency exam for facility licensure.

Curriculum

The Society offers the following curriculum to meet the mandated training requirements including:

  1. CDPHE Rules in Chapter 7 and 2
  2. Volume 8 (Medicaid), and Public Safety and Life Safety
  3. Policies and procedures
  4. Staff training and supports
  5. Care and delivery of services
  6. Emergency procedures and planning
  7. Interior/Exterior Environments
  8. Business Operations including HIPAA, contracts, budgeting, business strategic planning, insurance, labor laws, and marketing, state and federal mandates, human resources

How to Become Certified

To be deemed to meet the training and competency requirement in 6 CCR 1011-1 Chapter 07, [6.4, 6.5 and 6.6], individuals can be certified by:

    Completing the 40-hour administrator class

  • Passing the competency exam with an 80% or higher

Class Format

    1. Register for the complete course
    2. Attend the mandatory 1.5-hour orientation session
    3. Attend 40-hour virtual class, with self-directed learning modules, live lectures, and a competency exam.
    4. Complete final course exam online with an 80% passing score. Must be completed at a time agreed upon by the class.
    5. Cost is $825 which includes CGS membership, class materials, and access to course instructors.

For more information, call 303-333-3482.

Course Policies

Refund Policy: All cancellations must be received in writing five days prior to the session. A $100 processing fee will be charged for all cancellations. Refunds will be made approximately thirty days after the training. Individuals who cancel less than one week prior to the training start will not be entitled to a refund.

Proof of Identity: The State requires that all registrants must prove identity to receive a certificate of participation in the Administrator training. During the training, please be prepared to upload a scanned copy of a current Colorado’s Driver’s License, Current Colorado non-driver identification card; current US federal, state, or local government-issued identification (including military); current tribal enrollment card with photo or another form of photo tribal identification; current passport, or current student identification. Copies will be kept on file. Individuals will be required to sign a State Approved Form documenting they have shown proof of identity.

 

Registration Form