Assisted Living Training RescheduledThe Assisted Living Facility Owner/Operator Training for April 2020 and the Assisted Living Facility Owner/Operator Supplemental Training for May 2020 have been rescheduled due to the COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) pandemic. All registrations for the original dates will be honored. If you previously register and are unable to attend the June dates, please contact us.
All trainings will be virtual until further notice.
The Society is a certified provider of the Assisted Living Administrator Training required for licensure of assisted living facilities in Colorado. All individuals who will own or operate (including in a temporary capacity) an assisted living facility are required to complete this training from a certified provider prior to assuming the administrator position.
The training consists of the full 40-contact-hour curriculum required by the State for licensure. The course includes 20-hours of applicable state regulations and an additional 20-hours including an overview of business operations, daily business management, physical plant, resident care and resident psychosocial needs.
Individuals who completed the prior 30-hour certification training before June 30, 2018 and who were not grandfathered by being the administrator of record of a facility on or before December 31, 2018 are eligible to take a special supplemental 16-hour training course instead of the full 40-hour course and still meet the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment’s licensure requirements.
Individuals are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the following sets of rules:
- Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Standards for Hospitals and Health Facilities (6 CCR 1011-1) Chapter 7 ‘Assisted Living Residences’
- Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Standards for Hospitals and Health Facilities (6 CCR 1011-1) Chapter 2 ‘General Licensure Standards’
- Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing Program Rules and Regulations (10 CCR 2505-10) Section 8.495 ‘Alternative Care Facilities’
- Colorado Department of Public Safety Building, Fire and Life Safety Code (8 CCR 1507-31)
Starting January 1, 2019, individuals taking the course will be required to pass a competency test to demonstrate a comprehensive, evidence-based understanding of the regulations and topics. The test will be online. Individuals will be required to complete the test within one week of completing the class.
A certificate and letter of completion of the class will be issued upon successful completion of the class.
Trainings are offered on a quarterly basis for five full instruction days. Total cost is for the 40-hour course is $825 (including individual CGS membership, class materials, lunches and refreshments). Total cost for the 16-hour supplemental course for previously trained individuals is $330.
Upcoming TrainingsChoose a training date below to register or for more information about that particular training, including preliminary class schedules.